Blue 4

Petek, 24. november 2017 ob 19:30
Mestna stran Ljubljana, moje mesto

blue 4 

24 November 2017, at 7.30 pm

Gallus Hall

Cankarjev Dom


Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra

Vladimir Kulenović, conductor

Mate Bekavac, clarinet

Aco Aleksander Bišćević, tenor

George GershwinAn American in Paris

George Gershwin: Fantasy on a Theme from the Opera Porgy and Bess

Andy PapeAn American in Denmark


Chad CannonThe Dreams of a Sleeping World, for symphony and chorus with woodwind soloist (clarinet, bass clarinet, duduk, ethnic bass flute) - premiere performance



Serbian conductor Vladimir Kulenović has worked successfully for many years in the United States, where he is currently the artistic director of the Lake Forest Symphony Orchestra of Chicago. Prior to that, he worked with the Utah Symphony, with which he presented around one hundred concerts a year. He has also served as the principal conductor of the Belgrade Philharmonic and the Kyoto International Music Festival. He last presented himself to the Slovenian audience in January 2013, performing works by Sibelius and Elgar with the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra and cellist Jake Stadler. On this occasion, he will conduct the same orchestra, joined by superb Slovenian clarinettist Mate Bekavac, who will perform as a soloist in the world premiere of Cannon’s Clarinet Concerto.

Bekavac is known not only as a virtuoso clarinettist, but also as a conductor, composer and artistic director of the concert activities of the France Bernik Cultural Centre of Domžale. His studies took him from Ljubljana via Graz and the Salzburg Mozarteum to Juilliard in New York and the Paris Conservatory.

The present programme leads us on a journey through the music of the previous century and our own, as would be described in music by a curious American traveller.